Drug possession charges and other drug charges in Minnesota and Wisconsin can have an extremely wide range of penalties. Ranging from a fine to serious time in prison depending on the severity of your drug charges. It’s important you have an experienced drug lawyer representing you. Kevin Cornwell has worked extensively in this field, and aggressively pursues drug case dismissals or reduced sentences for clients, and gets results.
Common Drug Charges in Minnesota
- First Degree drug possession charges in Minnesota can bring a penalty of up to 30 years in prison and fines of up to $1 million. You could face first-degree possession charges if you are charged with possessing as little as 25 grams of some substances.
- Second Degree drug possession is a felony offense in Minnesota and could result in 25 years in prison and $500,000 in fines. 6 grams or more of some substances could result in possession charges of this magnitude.
- Third Degree drug possession in Minnesota is still a serious felony and can lead to up to 20 years in prison and $250,000 in fines, With 3 grams of some substances being enough to warrant this charge.
- Fourth-degree drug possession charges in Minnesota are only leveled for the possession of hallucinogens and can carry sentences of 15 years in prison and $100,000 in fines.
- Fifth Degree possession occurs when your charges don’t fit into any of the above classifications but can still bring up to 5 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. In very limited circumstances you can only be charged with a gross misdemeanor.
Common Drug Charges in Wisconsin
- A 1st Marijuana possession charge in Wisconsin is a misdemeanor and can bring penalties of up to 6 months in Jail and a $1000 fine.
- A 2nd Marijuana possession charge is a felony and can lead to up to 3 1/2 years in prison, and a $10,000 fine.
- A 1st Methamphetamine possession charge in Wisconsin is a misdemeanor and carries up to 1 year in Jail, and $5000 fine in penalties.
- A 2nd Methamphetamine possession charge is a felony and can lead to up to 3 1/2 years in prison, and a $10,000 fine.
- A 1st Heroin possession charge in Wisconsin is a felony and can lead to up to 3 1/2 years in prison, and a $10,000 fine.
Drug possession charges in Minnesota and Wisconsin can carry extremely lengthy sentences and fines, so it is very important you speak to a drug possession lawyer as soon as possible to ensure your drug charges do not take years of your life and earnings. Let a Duluth-Superior drug lawyer work to defend you aggressively and cast doubt upon the prosecution’s case and or methods for bringing the possession charges against you. Contact Cornwell Criminal Law right now.
- Duluth, Minnesota
- Superior, Wisconsin
- Cloquet, Minnesota
- St. Louis County, Minnesota
- Carlton County, Minnesota
- Douglas County, Wisconsin