Theft charges in Duluth and Superior most often stem from charges involving shoplifting, but there are a variety of other circumstances that can result in you being charged with theft. A theft charge can be received anytime there is an “unauthorized taking of property”. However proving this can often be quite difficult because, in order to be convicted, your intent to take the property in question must be proven by the prosecution.
As a successful Duluth – Superior theft lawyer I strive to use the unique circumstances of your case to build a strong defense against the charges. In many cases, those charged with theft are the simple victim of a misunderstanding, who never had the intention of taking any property. Victims of theft charges often forgot they still had items on their person or they were simply borrowing an item. Don’t let a simple misunderstanding turn into a theft charge that could ruin your life, ensure you have a successful theft defense lawyer on your side. Contact Cornwell Criminal Law now.
Most Common Theft Penalties in Wisconsin
Theft charges in Wisconsin are based on the value of the property you are charged with intentionally taking.
- Under $100 – A minor theft of this amount results in a Fine and is not a criminal charge.
- Under $2,500 – A theft charge involving this amount can garner up to 9 months in jail and fines of $10,000
- $2,500 to $5,000 – A charge in this bracket can bring up to 3 ½ years in prison and fines of $10,000
- $5,000 to $10,000 – A theft involving property valued at this level brings penalties of 6 years in prison and fines of $10,000
- Greater than $10,000 – Up to 10 years in prison and fines of $25,000
Most Common Theft Charges in Minnesota
Many view Minnesota’s theft penalties which are similarly based on the value of the item(s) in question as much harsher than Wisconsin’s, so the importance of an aggressive theft defense lawyer is even more important.
- Less than $500 – Can result in up to 90 days in jail and $1000 in fines.
- $500 to $1000 – A theft involving this amount can land you in jail for up to one year with fines up to $3000
- $1000 – $5000 – A theft charge for property in this bracket can lead to up to 5 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
- $5000 – $35,000 – A charge involving property valued at this amount can carry up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $20,000.
Theft charges in Duluth or Superior can involve extremely serious consequences so it is very important you have a dedicated and aggressive theft defense lawyer on your side, so a misunderstanding doesn’t turn into a theft charge that can ruin your life. Contact us today for a confidential consultation.
- Duluth, Minnesota
- Superior, Wisconsin
- Cloquet, Minnesota
- St. Louis County, Minnesota
- Carlton County, Minnesota
- Douglas County, Wisconsin